Highlights from the Canadian Sprint CanoeKayak Championships at Mooney’s Bay, Ottawa, Ontario. Sponsored by Rideau Canoe Club

To Learn visit:

The Canadian Sprint CanoeKayak Championships are in their 116th year. CanMas was created in 1986 with the goal of keeping competitors in the sport after reaching their peak, bringing former competitors back to the sport and new paddlers into the sport.

The Canadian Sprint CanoeKayak Championships and CanMas were hosted in Eastern Ontario 8 years ago and this is our turn again. The Canadian Championships have been hosted on Mooney’s Bay many times. The first regatta on Mooney’s Bay was in 1932 hosted by the Rideau Aquatic Club. From 1947 to 1966 Mooney’s Bay was the permanent site for the Canadian Championships. Since then the Championships have been hosted here in 1969, 1981, 1985, 1991, 1993, 1999 and 2007.

Over 1700 athletes are expected to be competing on Mooney’s Bay over the 6 days of competition, including many of Canada’s Olympic and World Championship athletes. It is an exciting opportunity for senior national team athletes to represent their home club with the goal of winning the Championship Burgee. It is also an important competitive opportunity for U23 and Junior athletes to continue to develop towards future selection to national teams.

This event is free for the general public. This is your chance to see Canada’s Olympians and those who represented Canada at the 2015 Toronto Pan Am Games in action!


View all posts

Add comment

Leave a Reply

Contact Info

+1 613 979 2096

%d bloggers like this: